Yelm district honors volunteers of the year


Yelm Community Schools awarded eight of its volunteers as the 2023-24 Volunteers of the Year during its Thursday, April 18, board meeting.

Eight of the nine schools in the district chose one volunteer as its most outstanding volunteer, and each principal presented a certificate, flowers and a speech thanking each honoree.

The following volunteers were recognized:

• Richard Allen, Fort Stevens Elementary School

• Kayla Willis, McKenna Elementary School

• Lisa Thomas, Prairie Elementary School

• Lety Music, Lackamas Elementary School

• Marissa Roberts, Mill Pond Elementary School

• Jabeth Schaffer, Southworth Elementary School

• Jennifer Foote, Ridgeline Middle School

• Cody Hutcheson, Yelm Middle School

“Volunteers are a huge part of our success in our district. This is just one from each building. There are many others that could have been chosen,” Yelm Community Schools Superintendent Chris Woods said during the meeting. “We’re just very appreciative of the time they put in. They have families. They have jobs. They have other commitments, yet they show up to help our schools, and so we’re very thankful for that.”