Cheer Team

The 2019-2020 Yelm High School cheer team poses for a photo Monday during practice.

While Yelm’s incoming cheer squad may be younger than last year’s, Head Coach Ashanti Walther said she’s excited to take their energy and turn her girls into a strong, stunting team. 

Yelm High School hosted cheer tryouts in March and also announced their new lineup. Third-year coach Walther will lead her girls through summer practice and into the season next fall. 

“I’m feeling really good about this team. They are already starting to bond as a sisterhood, they get along great. It looks like when they start stunting, they’ll look really good too,” Walther said.  

Next season’s team is currently 18-girls strong. The team is made up of a majority of new athletes with a couple returners, Walther said. There are six incoming freshmen on the team, six sophomores, four juniors and three seniors. 

The Tornados will lose four seniors this year who played a big role in the team’s success. Last season, Yelm placed fourth at state out of all 3A non-tumbling schools. 

The cheer season runs from November through February. Her squad will also perform at home football and basketball games in addition to covering competitions and performances. 

Tornados cheer won’t get a bye this summer either, as they’ll be busy practicing. In July, the girls will head to the Great Wolf Lodge for a stunt camp. This camp will test the girls on their ability to perform stunts and should be more difficult than what they’ve done in the past. 

“The stunts are more extensive, harder on the girls. That’s pretty much it. They’re just harder,” Walther said.  

Then later in the late summer, they’ll begin practice for the upcoming football games and competition season. 

Yelm Girls Cheer Squad 

Ashanti Walther

(Head Coach)

Maddie Hummel

(Assistant Coach)


Lillian Baca

Olivia Bennett

Tomi Hill

Camryn Hitchner 

Daysha Martin

Nadia McMullen 

Maiya Mohrweis

Kayli Olsen

Madison Overlin

Abbigail Patterson (Captain)

Karis Sanders (Co-Captain)

Lily Schwaesdall

Kelsie Slevin

Nevaeh Talanoa-Watkins

Hannah Taylor (Captain)

Airianna Aj Wilson

Samantha Spicer-King

Allyson Whittington

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.