Governor Jay Inslee talks during a press conference at the Southwest Washington Fairgrounds in November in Chehalis.

Gov. Jay Inslee this week announced the appointment of 15 people to serve on Washington’s new LGBTQ Commission.

J. Manny Santiago was named commission director in August. The LGBTQ Commission, established by the Legislature, was signed into law by Inslee in April of last year. 

The commission was established to identify the needs of the LGBTQ community and advocate for equality and inclusion in all aspects of state government.

“It is incredibly important to have a commission focused on this needs of the LGBTQ community in our state,” Inslee said. “The commission will be a valuable resource to all Washingtonians and provide recommendations and advice to my office, the Legislature and state agencies on issues important to all LGBTQ people.”

All appointments to the commission are effective immediately.

“This is an incredibly diverse group of people to serve on the LGBTQ Commission,” Santiago said. “The collective experience of this group on issues that affect LGBTQ Washingtonians of every background will be crucial as we continue to advance LGBTQ rights in our state. These people represent every corner of our state and I look forward to working with them to identify the needs of our community throughout Washington.”

The appointees were chosen by the governor with input from members of the state House and Senate and community stakeholders. Commissioners will serve three-year staggered terms.

The appointees are Marsha Botzer, Ingersoll Gender Center, King County; Alvaro Figueroa, Avista Corporation, Spokane County; Josette Ross, Nisqually Indian Tribe, Pierce County; Karen Goldsen, University of Washington, Island County; Matt Landers, GSBA, King County; Jac Archer, Spokane Human Rights Commission, Spokane County; Michelle Kelly-Barroga, Oasis Youth Center, Pierce County; Isyss Honnen, Pride Foundation, King County; Everett Maroon, Blue Mountain Heart to Heart, Walla Walla County; Beto Yarce, Ventures, Snohomish County; Maeve Griffith, City of Spokane, Spokane County; Steven Sawyer, People of Color Against Aids Network, King County; Jeffrey Robinson, Franklin Co. Dem Committee, Franklin County; Tobi Hill-Meyer, Gender Justice League, Thurston County; Lars Erickson, WSDOT, King County

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.