Students stand up on the stage at Yelm High School for a group photo following the Yelm Community Schools 2019 Awards Night.

More than 130 individual accolades were awarded to students and staff Thursday, June 6, during the 2018-2019 Yelm Community Schools District Awards Night. The evening was hosted by the board of directors, members of which opened and closed the meeting. 

“We value the many contributions of parents, staff, volunteers, business partners and the community as a whole in helping our students achieve success in life,” Superintendent Brian Wharton said. 


Yelm Middle School principal Scot Embrey, right, presents the Secondary Teacher of the Year award to YMS teacher Denyelle Noble-Wolf, left.

For staff, this year’s selection process rolled out differently than in past years. Career and Technical Education Director Teri Pablo said staff members were given the chance to nominate each other and write 100 words on their nomination for various honors, which in turn would be read during the night’s ceremony. 

Recognitions and awards included the Friend of the Schools Award, which was given to Nick Parsons; the School Bell Award, which was awarded to Teri Pablo; the Classified Employees of the Year awards, which were given out to Jim Muncy, Aaron Peterson and Renee Zahn; the Elementary Teacher of the Year award, which was bestowed to Esther Campbell; and the Secondary Teacher of the Year award, which was given to Denyelle Noble-Wolf. 

Eleven staff and teachers set to retire from the district were awarded and recognized. Those included Kathleen Abbott, Karen Bryan, Susan Croy, Dennis Davey, Billye Edwards, Debra Hawkinson, Ann Hutchison, Mark Lamb, Connie Reintzell, Robbilynn Robinson and Rosemary Wells. 

Twenty-five district employees with 20 or more years of service were also recognized. 

In addition to the staff, the top-10 academic students at each of the district’s nine schools were recognized with the Principal’s Academic Achievement Award. Principals called the names of each student on stage where they received an award and shook hands with the board of directors. 


Mill Pond Elementary music teacher Esther Campbell, left, receives the Elementary Teacher of the Year award during a Thursday night celebration at Yelm High School.

“All of our schools are full of talented, hard-working and successful students. For tonight’s event, each school was limited to 10 students for the recognition. We’re extremely proud of these exemplary students. They will continue to accomplish great things and we look forward to following their future successes,” Wharton said. 

Following the award ceremony, all 90 of the students pile on stage for a group photo and joined their gleeful families in the Yelm High School commons for refreshments. 


Yelm Community Schools CTE Director Teri Pablo, right, awards groudskeeper and maintenance employee Jim Muncy as one of three recipients of the Classified Employee of the Year award.


Yelm school board Director Debbie Edwards shakes the hand of a Mill Pond Elementary student who received the Principal’s Academic Achievement Award.


Principal’s Academic Achievement Award recipients from Lackamas Elementary line up for a group photo Thursday, June 6 at the Yelm High School auditorium.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.